When designing workflows in Microsoft Dynamics CRM, if you ever run into a problem where a Two Options (a.k.a. bit) field has been is filled in, but you do not want it filled in, this blog will describe how to remove that value. This may occur if you accidentally select one of the options in a Two Options field. You might also find out this has happened if you try to delete a bit field that is unused, but you cannot delete it because it says it is being used by a workflow.
Below is a screenshot of what a Two Options field looks like when it is being filled in by crm workflow. You’ll notice that once Yes or No is selected, there seems to be no way to deselect one of them. Read on and see how you can.
- First, make sure the field is selected by selecting one of the options (in this case Yes or No)
- Then up to the top right, change the operator from “Set to” to “Clear”. If this option is not available to you, see the note at the bottom of this blog
This will place a “clear” token in the problem field. Now this features is typically used to actually clear a field using workflow. We don’t want to do that. We just want to NOT update it at all. So, see step 3.
- In the top right, change the Operator back to “Set to”
Voila! Now nothing is selected in the Two Options field. You have officially “released” the field from duty in this workflow.
Note: If the Operator pick list is grayed out. Map another two-option field into the problem field instead and then delete the mapping. That will also clear the field.
Latest posts by JoeCRM (see all)
- How to Assign a Territory to a Lead in Dynamics CRM - May 17, 2013
- Out of the Box Report: Dynamics CRM User Summary - May 16, 2013
- Dynamics CRM / XRM Integration with GIS and PowerMap - May 15, 2013