The autosave feature was first introduced as part of the Polaris or UR 12 release, along with the new process forms. In CRM 2013, autosave is a dominant feature. Let’s explore what autosave does and some key points to keep in mind.
Saving a record
When you create a new record, you will have to save the record for the first time manually before autosave kicks in. Once the record has been saved once, autosave will save any changes made to the record every 30 second after a field has been modified.
To see this in action, create a new account record. Enter the account information and press the Save button.
Now that the record is saved, you’ll noticed that the Save button is no longer available. Instead there is a autosave icon at the lower right hand corner.
The autosave button not only allows you to manually save your work, but also provides useful information about the state of the record. Below are some screenshots of what you might see in the autosave area and what each means.
The record is saved. Click the save icon to save manually.
There are unsaved changes. In 30 seconds, autosave will save the record and it will revert back to the save icon.
This type of message will appear if a required field is missing.
You’ll see this message if the record is inactive/read-only.
Since autosave actually saves the record to the server, it is regarded as a record saved. Plugins will fire on autosave, as will workflows. The audit log will also be updated.
Enabling / Disabling Autosave
Autosave can be enabled/disabled by navigating to Settings > Administration > System Settings > General Tab.
The CRM 2013 autosave feature is just one of many great enhancements to Dynamics CRM. We’ve got a lot more resources and information on the new release on our Microsoft Dynamics CRM 2013 overview page, including links to CRM 2013-related events, blogs, and additional resources, so check it out and be prepared!