Workflows are a powerful tool that CRM users utilize to create records, update records, send emails and much more. With a recent update to Microsoft Dynamics CRM, a new option was added to the administration tab that allows users to “automatically delete completed workflow jobs (to save disk space).”
So what does this mean?
When you check this option, it will remove the system job as soon as it has been marked complete, and your completed workflows will appear to be missing. This could cause issue with auditing or troubleshooting a workflow as well as present issues with performance.
To avoid these issues, PowerObjects recommends that you leave this option unchecked and schedule a system job on either a weekly or monthly basis to remove these completed job records instead.
For more on workflows and how to use them, here are some additional blogs:
- How to Fix Workflows Stuck in Waiting
- Sending Emails via On-demand Workflows in Dynamics CRM
- How to Calculate the Weighted Value of an Opportunity via Workflow
- Time and Condition-based Workflows