718 Washington Ave. N. Suite #101
Minneapolis, MN 55401
View map and all Locations

Send us a message

One of the great features of Microsoft Dynamics CRM is the ability for users to create their own views and share them with others. In this post we’ll review how to create a shared view and we’ll also discover how to remove views that have been shared with you.


If you’re already familiar with using Advanced Find in MS Dynamics CRM, creating your own views is just an extra step!

In the Advanced Find window, click the Save As button to name your view. The view will then be available under My Views in the views dropdown for each entity.

To share the view with other CRM users, simply click the Saved Views button.

You will be presented with the list of Active Saved Views by default. As you can see, the view can be changed to retrieve the various types of views that are available to you. From this list you’ll select the view you’d like to share and click the Share button.

Note: This window can also be used to delete Saved Views that you no longer require.

To share a view, add or remove other CRM users by selecting them by user or by team. You can use this window to decide how much control you’d like to give each user or team over your view.

Read: Needed for others to see your view. The user or team can read the view.

Write: The user or team can add or remove criteria to the view’s query.

Delete: The user or team can delete the view. Be careful with this one, if a user deletes your view it is deleted for everyone else too.

Append: This option is not available for selection.

Assign: The user or team can change the ownership of the view.

Share: The user or team can share the view with other CRM users or teams.

When you share views with others, your shared view will be listed under My Views for the record type the view was built on. You may wish to name your shared views so they can be easily identified. In this case, Bill named his shared view “Unusual View by Bill”.

Once your fellow CRM users discover sharing views, the list of views under My Views can grow and grow. Perhaps you’d like to reduce the number of views to the ones you really use and hide all of the others. Perhaps there are views that were shared by a user who has been deactivated in CRM and you don’t want to see them anymore.

Regardless of the access level that was granted to you by the view sharer, you are able to Deactivate a shared view so it no longer shows up in your list.

To deactivate a shared view return to the Advanced Find window.

Note: Saved Views are grouped by the record type. Saved/shared views built on Account records are listed under the Account Record Type, views built on Contact records are listed under the Contact Record Type. You can quickly move through saved views for each entity by changing the record type using the Record Type button on the far left.

Once you’ve loaded the Advanced Find window, click Saved Views and change the view to Active Views Shared with Me. This will retrieve all of the views that your fellow CRM users have shared with you. Select the view or views you’d like to hide, click the Deactivate button, then close the Advanced Find window.

You will need to navigate to another record type and return to refresh the list of views, but when you do, you’ll notice that the views you deactivated are no longer available in the list of My Views.

Conversely, you are able to reactivate views that you’ve hidden by returning to the saved views list, change the view to Inactive Views Shared with Me, select the view or views you’d like to restore to My Views and click Activate.

Do you have a favorite view that you use over and over again? Save yourself a few mouse clicks and make it your default view by selecting your favorite view in the Saved Views list and then clicking the Set As Default View button.


In conclusion, Advanced Find is a powerful tool for getting to the MSCRM data you need when you need it. The ability to save and share views is a helpful feature to get to data you use over and over again quickly, without having to reconstruct your query each time. Managing your saved views and deactivating shared views that have no relevance to your work may improve your CRM user experience.

Hope you enjoyed. Happy CRM’ing!

Avatar for JoeCRM


Joe CRM is a CRM superhero who runs on pure Microsoft Dynamics CRM adrenaline. As the face of PowerObjects, Joe CRM’s mission is to reveal innovative ways to use Dynamics CRM and bring the application to more businesses and organizations around the world.